Foods containing gluten

Finally here is a list of foods containing gluten!

The following foods contain gluten and should be completely avoided if you were advised to go on a gluten free diet by your doctor.

Everyday foods containing gluten

* Unless it says “gluten free” on the label chances are these foods contain gluten.

avoid fried foodsBagels

Baked beans (canned)

Beer

Biscuits

Bread

Bread crumbs

Breaded meats, vegetables, & fish

Bread pudding

Broth (stock)

Cake

Cereal

Cheese (pre-shredded- it has added ingredients that contain gluten)

Chicken nuggets

Cookies

Corn dogs contain glutenCorn dogs

Couscous

Crab cakes

Crackers

Croissants

Croutons

Cupcakes

Custard

Cold Cuts

Doughnuts

Dumplings

French toast

French fries (unless they are from a raw potato that has not been coated)

Fried foods

Funnel cake

Graham crackers

Gravy

Gum

Hot dogs

Hot dogs have gluten too!Hot dog and hamburger buns

Hush puppies

Ice cream

Ice cream cones

Macaroni

Malted milk

Matzo

Meatballs

Meatloaf

Meat substitutes

Melba toast

Muesli

Muffins

Non-dairy creamer

Noodles

Oatmeal

Pancakes

Pasta

Pastries

Pie and pie crusts

Pita bread

Pizza and pizza crust

Potato chips

Pretzels contain glutenPretzels

Pudding

Rolls

Salad dressing

Sauces (most)

Sausages (most)

Semolina

Soup

Sour cream

Spagetti

Tortillas

Stuffing

Toast

Tabbouleh

Waffles

Yogurt

Veggie burgers (if soy-based)

Ingredients that contain gluten

* Read the ingredients carefully to be sure if gluten is within the ingredients

flour contains glutenAlcoholic spirits

Barley

Bran

Breading

Brewer’s yeast

Broth

Bulgur

Coating mixes

Couscous

Dextrimaltose

Flour

Fruit fillings

Gluten

Graham flour

Imitation bacon

Imitation seafood

Kamut

Malt

Marinades

MSG

Oats* (most oats-read the label carefully)

Rye bread contains glutenRye

Seitan

Semolina

Soup bases

Soy sauce

Spelt

Starch

Syrup

Tamari

Teriyaki sauce

Thickeners

Triticale

Wheat

Wheat berries

Wheat bran

Wheat germ

Wheat gluten

Wheat grass

Wheat nuts

Wheat protein

Wheat starch

Foods containing gluten that may be hidden within the ingredients

Most of the time the list of foods below contain gluten. Read the label carefully. The more additives a food has, the more chances it contains gluten!

Anti-caking ingredients

Artificial color

Artificial flavor

Caramel

Coloring

Ketchup

Demiglace

Dextrins

Emulsifiers

Food Starch

Glucose syrup

Maltodextrin

Maltose

Miso

Mono and diglycerides

Mustard (check make sure no wheat flour)

Rice syrup

Seasoning

Shortening

Smoke flavoring

Sour cream

Spices (some contain flour)

Stabilizers

Starch

Stock

Tomato paste

Vanilla

Vegetable shortening

Vitamins

Yeast

Alcohol

Most alcohols like bourbon, vodka, scotch, and rye are distilled thereby removing the gluten completely. You need to be careful of the mixers you use when preparing cocktails. It is most likely within the other ingredients that you could be adding gluten to your favorite cocktail.

Beer contains gluten because it is made with grains. Gluten free beer is now available in most larger package stores. Gluten free beer is normally made with sorghum which contains no gluten. Sorghum is deficient in gluten and is considered to be the closest “wheat free” alternative today. If you haven’t tried a gluten free beer yet you are in for a surprise as I doubt you will taste the difference!

People who have celiac disease or gluten intolerance might want to avoid alcohol as it is very hard on the intestines and digestive system. As always follow the advice of your physician.

Be a label reader

The secret of success when following a gluten free diet is to read labels and know your list of gluten free foods. Many foods that you would not normally think contain gluten have ingredients that are questionable and therefore should be avoided. If you are not sure if the item is gluten free stay away from it. Call or email the company that produces the food. Most companys have a phone number or web site on the package so when ever you may have doubt just ask questions.

If you have items or new products you would like to add to the list that are foods containing gluten , please feel free to email me at maria@the-gluten-free-diet.com .

Site Build It!

Return from foods containing gluten to what is gluten